	Melbourne Marathon Spartans Club Inc. A0043579R Annual General Meeting 2022
Date	Monday 12th September 2022
Location	AFL Dining Room at the Melbourne Cricket Ground
Attendees	As per lists
Item No.	Item
1	Meeting opened at 7:33PM. Jay welcomed everyone to the 34 th Annual General Meeting, and noted the upcoming 44 th anniversary of the Melbourne Marathon. There have been 61 incoming Spartans identified. Current Spartan legends who were in the room were invited to stand up for having run all 43 Melbourne Marathons since 1978, and will front the start line on 2 nd October.
2	Apologies
	David Adams, Kelvin Adams, Steve Arthur, Grace Bailey, Catherine Bombardieri, Darren Chester, John Chibnall, Jamie Craik, Hugh Creamer, Darren Croton, Helen Ferruci-Nobile, Brian Flegg, Phil Green, Brenton Harty, Greg Hunt, John Kaparelis, Jonathan Ennis-King, Trent Malcolm, Kelvin Marshall, Leigh Murphy, Otmar Raus, Peter Ryan, Ben Serong, David Smythe, Jane Sturzaker, Roger Weinstein, Colleen White, Alex Whitworth, Christopher Worsnop, John Zeleznikow
3	Confirmation of Minutes
	The Minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting held on 13 th September 2021 have been available for viewing on the website. Jay summarised the Minutes and were moved as an accurate presentation by Peter Battrick, seconded by Ian Gainey.
4	Business Arising from above Minutes
	Nil
5	Correspondence In/Out
	Nil
6	President's Report
	 The President's Report is included in the 2022 AGM agenda & report paper. Summary: Welcome return of face to face Annual General Meeting after 3 years due to Covid interruptions. John Kaparelis (Hall of Fame and Committee Member) has run his 12th marathon today as part of the 'Townsville Magnetic 30 in 30' challenge over 30 days in September. Charity donations can be made to CPEC (Cerebral Palsy Education Centre) by accessing the QR code in the AGM papers. Invitation to suggest names of runners or to volunteer to appear in future Spartans podcast was welcomed.

7	Treasurer's Report
	The Treasurer's Report is included in the 2022 AGM agenda & report paper.
	Turan yang Dad Davida yang bang bang bang bang bang bang bang b
	Treasurer Rod Bayley noted membership numbers encouraging as there were 168 paid members at 30 June 2022.
	100 paid members at 30 June 2022.
	Members 2021/22: paid members 235
	Members 2022/23 paid members as of 12/9/22: 260
8	Secretary's Report
	The Secretary's Report is included in the 2022 AGM agenda & report paper.
	Jay asked the floor if there was any business arising from the President,
	Treasurer and Secretary's report. No matters arising.
	Matter and the fall 2 of the control to blad and account of the Daniel
	Motion was moved that all 3 club reports tabled are accepted by John Dean, seconded by Maureen Wilson.
	Seconded by Madreen Wilson.
9	General Business
	How does a runner wear their running club and Spartan recognition at events
	was mentioned. Some contributions of suggestions have been submitted to the club for consideration.
	club for consideration.
	Update on 2022 Melbourne Marathon - the text message update from Chris
	Muirden was read out by Jay Fleming.
	Federation Square has been double booked with the 2022 Victorian Seniors
	Festival. The half marathon course will change, marathon course to stay as same. The final 2km of the event may be busier due to sharing the course with
	half marathon runners.
	Chris Muirden's well documented passion for the Melbourne Marathon is
	available in his book titled 'The Wall'.
10	Election of Office Bearers
	Expressions of interest were invited from the floor.
	Committee 2022/23:
	President: Jay Fleming Vice President: Paul Basile
	Co-Secretaries: Anne Ziogos, Vicky Chung
	Membership Secretary: Felicity Doolan
	Treasurer: Rod Bayley
	General Committee (5): David Foskey, John Dobson, John Kaparelis, Kai Ooi,
	John Zeleznikow
	Moved by Jay Fleming, seconded by John Dean.
11	Presentations/Awards
	Hall of Fame Induction - introduction by Clarke Whitehand. Past president John
	Dean and John Dobson assisted with the award and certificate presentations to the 6 inductees: Lorraine Allen (SF0011), Ian Gainey (SW1), Eric Heine (S0872)
	(not in attendance), Gregory Moore (S0914), Ken Watt (S0844), Jay Fleming
	(S1012).

Shirley Young Award – Felicity Doolan announced the 2021 First Female Spartan is awarded to Selena Zienau (SF114), in a time of 3:54:47. Serena was away in Gold Coast and her message was read out by Felicity. John Gubbins Award – Peter Battrick announced the 2021 First Male Spartan is awarded to David Alcock (S1313), in a time of 2:41:55. Following the awards, Jay Fleming phoned John Kaparelis who was in Townsville for the 'Townsville Magnetic 30 in 30'. John shared what it was like to start at 4am, the weather and racing progress. Felicity Doolan invited seated guests to check under their seats to reveal if they have won one of six door spot prize. Meeting break at 8:20pm for 20 minutes. 12 **Guest Speaker - Kevin Cassidy** Kevin has run a few early Melbourne Marathons and took up ultramarathon running in 1985. Kevin's first winter of swimming started in 2007 with plans set on the English Channel swim. He has since completed solo swims in the English Channel, Catalina to California channel and Manhattan Island swim. In 2017 Kevin completed the NZ Cook Strait which is the hardest swim in the world. Vice President Paul Basile thanked and presented Kevin a gift voucher on behalf of the club. 13 **Presentation of Spartan Singlets** Felicity Doolan read out the names of the incoming & milestone Spartans: 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40 years. Spartan singlets were presented to recipients by Kevin Cassidy. 14 **Evening Close** Meeting closed at 10:05PM. Refreshments were then served.