The 2019 Annual General Meeting was held on the Monday the 16th of September in the AFL Room at the MCG with a record number of members present. Our speaker was Doug Wilson who shared his extraordinary life story. Fascinating and detailed as the talk was, Doug’s book is recommended reading.

If you would like a higher resolution copy of a photograph, email [email protected] with the details.

Teganuma Runners

In October 2018, Anne Ziogos and Michelle Tham represented the Spartans at the Teganuma Half Marathon. For a full report see the December 2018 Newsletter.

Hostess, Michelle, Anne

Michelle and Anne in some gardens

Anne and Michelle describing their trip.

Hall of Fame Inductee

Duncan Bartley is pictured at right being presented with his Hall of Fame certificate by Legend John Dobson.

Duncan ran the first of his 30 consecutive Melbournes in 1989. His best time in a Melbourne is 2:58:49 in 2004 but he dipped under 2:55 in the same year at Traralgon.

Duncan has become the 44th member of the Melbourne Marathon Spartans Hall of Fame, restricted to members who have completed at least 30 Melbournes. We are hopeful that two more Spartans, Lorraine Allen and Eric Heine, will complete their 30th Melbourne in 2019.






Life Member Recipient

Colin Silcock-Delaney being congratulated on his Life Membership by Immediate Past President John Dean.

Colin Silcock-Delaney was awarded Life membership of the Melbourne Marathon Spartans by the meeting on the Committee’s recommendation.
Colin has been an active Committee member for many years, travelling from his home in Port Campbell to attend meetings in Melbourne.

During the period of his membership he has put in many hours manning the Spartan tent at the pre-marathon Expo and the marathon day tent relies on him for its smooth operation.

At right, Colin is displaying his certificate and wearing his Life Member badge.

Tom Roach, Honorary Spartan

Committee member David Foskey presenting Tom with his singlet.

The title of “Honorary Spartan” is bestowed on students of the Cerebral Palsy Education Centre who complete ten of the one of the shorter events on marathon day. Tom will become the fourth honorary spartan when he completes his 2019 event.
Tom is active in many sports, and has earned a very impressive set of medals in a variety of sports. He is currently in Grade 5 at Kew Primary.

Tom displaying his singlet.

Fastest Spartans 2018

Michelle Tham was fastest female, winning the Shirley Young award for 2018, with a gun time of 3:29:11. She is pictured with Dylan and Rhys Young, the grandsons of Ron and Shirley Young, who presented the awards.

Sadly, Ron Young passed away a few days before the AGM.



Fastest male was Antony Rickards in a time of 2:41:49 thus winning the Jack Gubbins Award for 2018. Antony was unable to attend.



10 Year Spartans

Singlets presented by guest speaker Doug Wilson.

Noel Ashford

Adam Breman

Sally Buckingham

Danielle Cain

Stephen Campbell

Vicky Chung

Kerry Clapham

Danny Collins

Daniel Cudmore

John Dawson-Wink

Sandra Doyle

Corey Elms

Marcus Godinho

Mark Goodwin

Russ Goodwin

Gary Hall

David Harrison

Grant Hickey

Simon Iskenderian

Ruth Kimpton

Anita Lynch

David Maddern

Jarrod Mast

Scott Nathan

James Nowak

Kai Ooi-Yuan

David Peckham

Craig Rawson

Kevin Richardson

Andrew Ross

Adrian Sbrugnera

Greg Shilo

Rachel Smith

Jonathan Spero

Kimbra Stanfield

Jon Strachan

Wayne Terrington

Jennies Tiu

David Veteha

Theo Vlachos

Jake Ward

Darren Woods

Brendan Wray

Part of 10 year Spartans group

Part of 10 year Spartans group

Part of 10 year Spartans group

Part of 10 year Spartans group

15 Year Spartans

Michael Evagora

Lorenzo Galati

Georgia Illiadis

John McGrath

Warren McVean

Gary Taylor

Michelle Tham

Mike Zervos

15 Year Spartans Group

20 Year Spartans

John Adams

Peter Black

Dave Styles

Maureen Wilson

Chris Worsnop

20 Year Spartans Group

25 Year Spartans

Malcolm Bulafkin

Gavin Criddle

Mark Foley

Ian Harris

25 Year Spartans Group

30 Year Spartans

Lorraine Allen

Duncan Bartley

Eric Heine

30 Year Spartans Group

40 Year Spartan

Jim Hopkins will be become the 11th Spartan to complete 40 Melbourne marathons in 2019.

The Committee at the AGM

President Jay Fleming

Vice President Paul Basile

Immediate Past President John Dean

Colin Silcock-Delaney

Vicky Chung

Secretary Anne Ziogos

John Dobson

Treasurer Rod Bayley and Secretary Felicity Dobson

Matt Callaghan

John Kaparelis

David Foskey